7 Sorrows of Mary

(author of photo: Georges Jansoone (JoJan) – artwork by Adriaen Isenbrant)

Traditionally in the Catholic Church, September is dedicated to the Seven Sorrows of Mary. The Seven Sorrows of Mary represent the suffering that Our Lady endured being the mother of Jesus.

It is a beautiful devotion; one that I just recently discovered. It must be one of those hidden devotions that aren’t practiced much any more. Too bad, too. It would be good for us to remember more often the sufferings Mary endured as the mother of the Savior.

The Seven Sorrows are:

1. The Prophecy of Simeon.
2. The Flight of Jesus, Mary and Joseph into Egypt.
3. The Loss of Jesus in the Temple.
4. Mary meets Jesus on the way of the Cross.
5. Jesus dies on the Cross.
6. Mary receives the dead body of Jesus.
7. Jesus is placed in the tomb.

To find more about the devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary go to the Catholic Tradition website; or, go to sevensorrows.com for the biblical basis of this devotion.

May you, during this month of September, draw ever closer with our Lord Jesus. God bless you.


  1. Thank you for the link and the information! God bless!

  2. I appreciate this information, the richness of our faith always amazes me.

    (I must admit that I was a bit confused when I saw the first comment, “Did I already comment? Hmm, I don’t remember that!”. I am so egotistical to forget there are other Colleen’s in the world.:)
    Colleen…recently posted…Blown Wide OpenMy Profile

    • SimpleCatholic says

      LOL! I think it’s more normal than egotistical, without a last name, how can you be sure it’s not you?. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  3. Well I’m sure because I actually clicked on her link to make sure it didn’t lead back to my own blog…:) And commenting is my pleasure when the post is so beneficial!:)
    Colleen…recently posted…Blown Wide OpenMy Profile


  1. […] here to learn more about the devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows. Share and […]

Speak Your Mind


CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.